CBC 48th Legislative Phoenix Awards Dinner

Back to photo galleries

Photography by Vicky Pink - Present day champions who fight against political, social and economic disparities were recognized at the 48th Annual Legislative Phoenix Awards Dinner during the 48th Annual Legislative Conference. Awardees included Stacey Adams, Lee Porter, Bryan Stevenson, Tommy Smith, John Carlos, Rev. Jesse Jackson, Jacqueline Brown, and posthumously, Aretha Franklin. The premier political event of the year was themed “The Dream Still Demands.” Rev. Dr. William J. Barber II was the keynote speaker and songstress Andra Day. Some in attendance were Michael Ntwa Ydjumbwiths, Lamman Rucker, Vivica A. Fox, Mayor Muriel M. Browser, Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee, Senator Cory Booker, Senator Kamala Harris, Congressman Cedric L. Richmond, Congressman Emanuel Cleaver II, Congresswoman Barbara Lee, A. Shaunise Washington, and Tonya Veasey.