Houston Texans’ C.J. Stroud Honored with PFWA’s 2024 Good Guy Award

In a testament to his exemplary character and professionalism, Houston Texans quarterback C.J. Stroud has been awarded the prestigious 2024 Good Guy Award by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA). This honor, recognizing Stroud's outstanding rapport with both local and national media, highlights his integrity off the field, complementing his remarkable performance on it.

“First and foremost, I want to give all glory and praise to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. It’s a blessing to be recognized as the PFWA Good Guy Award winner, and it stands out to me because it’s more of an award that embodies someone’s character rather than the stats they compile on the field,” Stroud expressed. “I appreciate the job the media has and thank them for choosing me as someone who is deserving of this honor. A special shoutout to the other very deserving players who were nominated and those that won before me.”

Stroud, the 20th recipient of this award, is the first player from the Houston Texans franchise to earn this accolade. Other notable finalists included Cleveland Browns guard Joel Bitonio, Buffalo Bills tackle Dion Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles defensive end Brandon Graham, and Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott.

A Model of Professionalism

The Good Guy Award, established in 2005, is given annually to an NFL player who demonstrates commendable qualities and professional style in interactions with pro football writers. Jonathan Alexander, co-vice president of the PFWA’s Houston chapter, commended Stroud for his consistent availability and openness with the media, whether during the week or post-game, win or lose. 

“Stroud is the Good Guy Award winner because of his professionalism and openness with both the national and local media. He is always available during the week and after games, win or lose. He understands the media has a job to do and answers each question thoroughly,” Alexander stated. “He is also active in the Houston community without seeking attention, recently volunteering to remove trees and clean up debris from yards in underserved communities after a storm left many residents without power for several days.”

On-Field Excellence

Drafted second overall by the Texans in the 2023 NFL Draft, Stroud quickly made his mark. Starting in all 15 games he appeared in, he completed 319 of 499 passes for 4,108 yards, 23 touchdowns, and only five interceptions, finishing the regular season with a passer rating of 100.8. His 4,108 passing yards ranked third-most by a rookie quarterback in NFL history, and his TD-interception ratio of 4.6 led the league, making him the youngest player to achieve this feat. Stroud also set an NFL record by beginning his career with 191 consecutive passes without an interception.

In recognition of his stellar debut season, Stroud was named the 2023 PFWA NFL Rookie of the Year and Offensive Rookie of the Year. He also earned the titles of NFL Offensive Rookie of the Month twice (in September and November), AFC Offensive Player of the Month for November, and AFC Offensive Player of the Week twice (Weeks 9 and 18).

About the PFWA

Now in its 61st season, the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) is dedicated to advocating for pro football writers' access to NFL personnel to best serve the public. The PFWA comprises accredited writers who cover the NFL and its 32 teams daily. The organization's current president is Calvin Watkins of the Dallas Morning News, with Nicki Jhabvala of the Washington Post and Michael-Shawn Dugar of The Athletic serving as vice presidents.

Past Good Guy Award Winners

Previous recipients of the Good Guy Award include notable NFL figures such as Jerome Bettis, Tiki Barber, LaDainian Tomlinson, Brett Favre, Kurt Warner, Drew Brees, Aaron Rodgers, Tim Tebow, Tony Gonzalez, Russell Wilson, Richard Sherman, Thomas Davis, Larry Fitzgerald, Chris Long, Eli Manning, Philip Rivers, Cameron Heyward, Jason Kelce, and now, C.J. Stroud.

Follow the PFWA at [ProFootballWriters.org](https://www.profootballwriters.org) and on Twitter at [@PFWAwriters](https://twitter.com/PFWAwriters) for more updates and information.